CREW's Most Corrupt Members of CongressWashington D.C.Today, Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington (CREW) released its fourth annual report on the most corrupt members of Congress.

CREW’s Most Corrupt Members of Congress provides a detailed analysis of the unethical and sometimes illegal activities of 24 congressmen and women who have most egregiously betrayed the public’s trust.

New to this year’s study are Reps. Marsha Blackburn, Vern Buchanan, Vito Fossella, Dan Lipinski, Charlie Rangel, Laura Richardson and Mike Turner, and Sens. Mary Landrieu and Norm Coleman.

Of this year’s list of 24, at least 12 are under investigation: Ken Calvert, John Doolittle, Tom Feeney, Vito Fossella, William Jefferson, Jerry Lewis, Alan Mollohan, Gary Miller, Tim Murphy, Rick Renzi, Don Young and Ted Stevens. One other, Charlie Rangel, is under a self-initiated House ethics committee investigation.

Melanie Sloan, executive director of CREW, said today, “With soaring gas prices, a housing market in crisis, rising unemployment, and a nation at war, elected officials should be prioritizing their constituents’ needs over their own self-interests. Unfortunately, the members of Congress listed in CREW’s Most Corrupt report have decided that their personal needs are paramount to those they represent. This report holds them accountable for those choices.”

The 20 most corrupt Members of Congress

  • Rep. Vern Buchanan (R-FL)
  • Rep. Ken Calvert (R-CA)
  • Rep. John T. Doolittle (R-CA)
  • Rep. Tom Feeney (R-FL)
  • Rep. Vito J. Fossella (R-NY)
  • Rep. William J. Jefferson (D-LA)
  • Sen. Mary Landrieu (D-LA)
  • Rep. Jerry Lewis (R-CA)
  • Rep. Daniel Lipinski (D-IL)
  • Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY)
  • Rep. Gary G. Miller (R-CA)
  • Rep. Alan B. Mollohan (D-WV)
  • Rep. Timothy F. Murphy (R-PA)
  • Rep. John P. Murtha (D-PA)
  • Rep. Steve Pearce (R-NM)
  • Rep. Charles B. Rangel (D-NY)
  • Rep. Rick Renzi (R-AZ)
  • Rep. Harold Rogers (R-KY)
  • Sen. Ted Stevens (R-AK)
  • Rep. Don Young (R-AK)

Dishonorable mentions

  • Rep. Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
  • Sen. Norm Coleman (R-MN)
  • Rep. Laura Richardson (D-CA)
  • Rep. Michael Turner (R-OH)

Click Here to read CREW’s Fourth Annual Most Corrupt Members of Congress Report